Transfert.net://archives:My story is commonplace
 As soon as he arrived at Transfert, Vincent Plousey could not refrain from having a look at the phone switchboard and providing hints about the improvement of its security. Not a tall man, with bright and quizzical eyes, Plousey is well mannered and has nothing of a boaster. He seems as shocked by the charges against him as by the conditions of his stay in jail.

As soon as he arrived at Transfert, Vincent Plousey could not refrain from having a look at the phone switchboard and providing hints about the improvement of its security.
    What has been your personnal route ?
    I left school before my teens and went to a specialized centre for kids suffering from educational and domestic problems. I ended up with a certificate in horticulture. I went into gardening, then became a technician in a telecom centre. Self taught, I created my first e-zine about telecoms and radio in 1995, before launching the Chaos Radio Club of France, which made fun of the French Chaos Computer Club, a group that had been created – and manipulated – by a hacker who had been overturned by the DST, the French counter–intelligence agency. I left this scene in 1998 because of squabbles between groups. Also, I was disgusted by these guys who swear they fight for freedom of expression, but crave to work in the computer security business –more or less hand in hand with the military.
    How did it feel to be arrested by the DST ?
    On April 18, at about 9 a.m., I left home for work when seven plain-clothes policemen, seized me at gunpoint in front of some of my neighbours. I was taken to the DST central office, then to the hyper-secure antiterrorist section of the high court. At first, I did not realize much what was happening to me, especially because I did nothing for the last two years. The examination was quite heavy, with a lot of morale advice on the side, and I was scared to death. I kept saying to myself : this must be a mistake. When they lock you in their cell you are not a human being any more, everything is made to humble you. You have nothing to eat and you can’t even drink : they piss in the cell sink... It was a little better in the prison I was locked in for the next two months, but it all amounts to the same misery.
    What did you learn from this experience ?
    I think my case was meant as an example, that could frighten quite a lot of people. In my opinion, they knew that I would write something to advise others not to go astray the way I did. On the other hand, they also turned me into some kind of a martyr – which I am not : anyone could have acted the same way. In fact, I've been very naive and immature. But I do not regret having informed others about the way networks function – and how easy it is, by crossing sources, to find informations. Everything I found was open-source, even if it was in the military field. Moreover, I told the judge that I had only done the job of an investigative journalist. The only source unavailable to the public that I used is a national police force manual that was given to me during a "2600" meeting at the Place d’Italie McDonald’s restaurant (the classic meeting place of french would-be hackers). My story is commonplace, but the punishment is too strong : I did all this just for fun, and out of curiosity. I have been so heavily punished because I opened my mouth too much. As far as freedom of expression is concerned, France is not the United States, where those very frequenciees that got me into trouble can be found in magazines – and where the First Amendment of the Constitution guarantees freedom of speech.

Transfert.net://archives:Mon affaire est banale
 En débarquant à la rédaction de Transfert, Vincent Plousey ne peut s’empêcher d’aller voir le commutateur téléphonique et de donner quelques conseils pour en améliorer la sécurité. Pas très grand, le regard fureteur et brillant, bien élevé, l'homme n’a rien d’un flambeur. Il semble autant choqué par ce dont on l'accuse que par les conditions de détention en prison.


    Quel est votre parcours ?
    J’ai arrêté des études normales en CM2 pour aller dans un centre spécialisé de la DASS pour enfants en difficultés scolaires et familiales. J’ai obtenu un CAP d’horticulture. Après avoir été jardinier, je suis devenu technicien de maintenance dans un centre télécom. Autodidacte, j’ai créé mon premier e-zine sur les télécoms et la radio en 1995, avant de monter le Chaos Radio Club de France. C'était un pied de nez au Chaos Computer Club de France, un groupe monté et manipulé par un hacker qui avait été retourné par la DST. Mais j’ai quitté la scène en 1998 à cause des guéguerres entre groupes. J'étais aussi dégoûté par les mecs qui disent défendre la liberté d’expression, mais veulent surtout bosser dans la sécurité informatique, et donc plus ou moins avec l’armée.
    Ça fait quoi d’être arrêté par la DST ?
    Le 18 avril, vers 9 heures, je partais travailler quand sept policiers en civil, armes au poing, m’ont braqué devant certains de mes voisins. J'ai été emmené au siège de la DST, puis à la section anti-terroriste hyper-sécurisée du tribunal de grande instance. Je ne réalisais pas trop ce qui m’arrivait, d’autant que je ne faisais plus rien depuis deux ans. J’en ai pris plein la gueule pendant l’interrogatoire où j’ai eu droit à une grosse leçon de morale, j’étais mort de trouille. Je me disais : il doit y avoir une erreur. Au dépôt du tribunal, tu n’es plus un être humain, tout est fait pour t’humilier. Tu n'as rien à bouffer et tu ne peux pas boire : ils pissent dans l’évier... C’est un peu mieux à la Santé, mais c’est quand même la misère !
    Quelles leçons tirez-vous de cette inculpation ?
    Je pense avoir servi d’exemple. Ça peut effrayer pas mal de monde. À mon avis, ils savaient que j’écrirai un truc pour prévenir les autres et les inciter à ne pas faire de conneries. Par contre, ils ont aussi fait de moi un martyr, ce que je ne suis pas : n’importe qui aurait pu le faire. J’ai été très naïf et immature. Mais je ne regrette pas d’avoir informé les autres sur le fonctionnement des réseaux et combien il est facile, par recoupement, d’accéder aux informations. Ce que j’ai fait c’est de l’open-source, de la veille techno dans le domaine technico-militaire. J’ai d’ailleurs dit au juge que j’avais fait un boulot de journaliste d’investigation. La seule source non disponible en librairie dont je me suis servi, c’est un manuel de la police nationale que m’avait remis quelqu’un lors d’un meeting de 2600 au Mac Donald's de la place d’Italie (lieu "traditionnel" de rendez-vous des apprentis hackers français, NDLR). Mon affaire est banale, mais la punition est trop forte : j’ai fait ça pour le fun et par curiosité. Cela dit, si les sanctions sont aussi lourdes, c’est que j’avais trop ouvert ma gueule. Question liberté d’expression, on est en France, et pas aux États-Unis où certains magazines publient ces mêmes fréquences et où le premier amendement de la Constitution garantit la liberté d’expression.